Picture of guzman gon
Customizable theme
by guzman gon - Thursday, 21 November 2019, 5:59 PM

I've been creating my scorms with Adapt Authoring Tool for a few years. But I don't find any different themes to customize colors, fonts, etc. In order to do this, is it necessary to install the framework?

Picture of Chuck Lorenz
Re: Customizable theme
by Chuck Lorenz - Tuesday, 3 December 2019, 10:00 PM

The latest versions of the authoring tool (AAT) allow for editing some of the visual properties of themes. Please note that you have to be using a theme that has been coded for this capability. This feature was added in May 2019. The CHANGELOG.md notes which versions of the Vanilla theme must be used with a couple of AAT/FW combinations. Check it out. This ability can take you quite far.

Why aren't more themes available? I'm guessing that a big reason is that themes are frequently developed around client brands. FEDs are taking Vanilla and changing colors and font, and maybe some padding/margins. That bit's not much of an offer to the community. The next step is adding in a client logo and--oftentimes--background images that are again brand-specific. And those additions which really bring a theme to life are never going out the door. Lastly, mods are often done to plug-ins to integrate the theme. adapt-contrib-vanilla/less/plugins contains theme modifications for 18 plugins. I've rarely seen courses that have used all those. But a theme offered to the community ought to have these all worked out. That can be a bit of work.