Picture of Ioannis Dourvas
General overview of an elearning system
by Ioannis Dourvas - Tuesday, 3 May 2016, 1:14 PM

Hallo there.

I am a web developer but i am new in elearening. I am considering to start an elearning project. I have been studying about elearning for 2-3 days now and i am really comfused. So many terms that i ve never had herd before....Could you please provide me some info about general schema for a eleraning system? 

Let me write it down and please comment or correct me if i am wrong.

-first of all i need an authoring tool to build the courses. The Adapt looks great.

- second, i need a platform to host the courses. I was thinking to build my own. Do you think it is a good idea? I found out that those systems have a name. LMSs. There are some relevant themes i could use in theforest i could use for the front-end. About the back end i could manage to built it.

- i found out that i need a way to accomplish communication between the courses and the platform. There are standards called SCORM or Xapi. I never understood the necessity of those. I understand that they track the learners activity.  I could do that myself by coding using jquery, ajax and other technology. Do i really need them? In the general schema i understand that i must add an LRS in case i choose the tin can api.

Is that all?

Picture of Matt Leathes
Re: General overview of an elearning system
by Matt Leathes - Tuesday, 3 May 2016, 7:21 PM

Hi Ioannis

I wrote an answer to a slightly similar question to your LMS question here that's worth a read.

It's also worth considering that most e-learning authoring tools will support SCORM 1.2, many will support SCORM 2004 and AICC and some will support xAPI (still relatively new - as far as the world of e-learning is concerned anyway!) - so by using an LMS (or LRS) that is compatible with one or more of these industry standards you're giving yourself far more scope as to what you can use to create e-learning with.