Picture of Cranny North
Anyone heard of H5P?
by Cranny North - Saturday, 18 March 2017, 2:21 AM

Hi,

In my last job, I worked as an Instructional deisgner/elearning developer for Victoria University (VU). I'm aware that Articulate Storyline and Adobe Captivate  are the industry standards. However, VU uses the e-learning software known as 'H5P', as it's free, an open source and easy to use. The program is created for non designers, just like if you don't now coding to build a website, there's wordpress. H5P also has plug ins with wordpress, Drupal and moodle.

Links:

• https://h5p.org/
  • https://h5p.org/presentation (the format VU use)
  • https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/H5P

I'm in Australia, I've done keyword research of "H5P" on job sites with no results at all. Obviously, we all know majority of the companies and organisations requires Articulate Storyline, Adobe  Captivate, Lectora and etc. (In my opinion, comparing H5P to Articulate Storyline is like comparing Microsoft Paint to Photoshop) 

So my question is, if you were the employer and you see my resume that I have e-learning and instructional design experience, but the software I use is H5P, would I have the chance to get hired? Would you hire someone who uses a software that you might/may never heard of?

Picture of Chuck Lorenz
Re: Anyone heard of H5P?
by Chuck Lorenz - Saturday, 18 March 2017, 7:17 AM

Hi Imran,

I don’t think H5P should be the focus of how you sell yourself. (By the way, where is Adapt in your story?)