Picture of Simon Date
Re: Anyone heard of H5P?
by Simon Date - Wednesday, 29 March 2017, 2:29 PM

Hi Imran,

My team uses H5P as well as Adapt, so I think I have some experience to talk about both technologies.

H5P is a really great tool that's one of it's best features is its offering of content types which are all being updated rapidly, by a dedicated full-time team based in Norway. It's best content type, Interactive Video has an equal amount or more of features compared to many premium interactive video authoring tools that are being sold for hundreds of dollars per month, a huge win for OSS.

We were so keen to bring some of the great activity types from H5P to Adapt that we created a component type that allows for H5P content to be embedded into Adapt with native Adapt functionality (component completion) built in, check it out here and please tell me what you think.

H5P recent native support Moodle plugin offers it a huge chance to gain huge popularity from people who want to easily create "better-than-Moodle" activities. However it is still not as fleshed out as the Wordpress and Drupal support. When we tested it about 3 months ago, was not really on the same level as the other platforms. Maybe it will achieve feature parity in 6-12 months. This meant that we instead have to create h5p content on our Drupal server and then embed it into our LMS. This workflow is quite a bit slower than our Adapt workflow, so problems there.