Picture of Gavin Nelson
using custom component
by Gavin Nelson - Tuesday, 25 March 2014, 11:50 AM

I'm pretty new to adapt and the languages it uses.

I'm trying to create a custom component by following the plugin development instructions on the GIT wiki I have put the folder for my component (adapt-mediasync) in src/components and have put it on the github referenced in my bower.json but i cant get the component to display.

My component is called adapt-mediasync and i have tried putting in a component with "_component":"mediasync" or "_component":"adapt-mediasync" both of these result in the page coming out blank.

Am i missing something?

it seems that to use other components you install them with adapt install 'plugin name' but this seems to only work for registered plugins. Is there a way to get it to work locally before I register it as I don't want to register an unfinished plugin.

Picture of Adam Laird
Re: using custom component
by Adam Laird - Tuesday, 25 March 2014, 12:04 PM

should be "_component": "mediasync"

and perhaps package.json?

Picture of Chris Jones
by Chris Jones - Tuesday, 25 March 2014, 12:44 PM

You have to make sure in your component you have called Adapt.register('mediasync', ... )

And then you can reference it in the course JSON using the same name.

You don't strictly need to register the component on git to do this you just need it in your components directory.

Picture of Gavin Nelson
by Gavin Nelson - Wednesday, 26 March 2014, 12:33 PM

Thanks to everyone who responded, much appreciated.

I was missing the Adapt.register call. Should this be added to the developing plugins page on the wiki?

And am I right to assume you can make plugins that are not components and in those cases you don't need to call Adapt.register , but can just put a return at the end of the plugin as on the wiki?

Picture of Chris Jones
by Chris Jones - Wednesday, 26 March 2014, 1:19 PM

Adapt.register(...) is only applicable for components.