Picture of Jon Collins
Using specific fonts in a theme
by Jon Collins - Wednesday, 20 September 2017, 9:27 AM

Hi all, 

I'm new to both the Authoring Tool and the community - so would appreciate any help you may be able to provide. 

Having recently installed the authoring tool, and created some courses, I've had a go at creating my own theme, making simple changes to colours and fonts etc. The theme, after producing several frustrating versions figuring out how various things work, is now working, apart from one thing, my company-specific font.

I've managed to use @font-face to reference a specific font for headings, which is held on our company server (where the main website resides). I have a separate font stack using font-family for body text etc.

When I preview (or download and run as a SCORM package) it all works perfectly on my iPad. This is encouraging as I know the majority of my theme changes have been successful. 

However - every other device / browser combination is not working correctly with the font-face referenced header font (it just defaults to a standard font). 

Looking into this - I’m getting this error showing in the console on Chrome inspector:

Redirect from (font @ our web addresshas been blocked by CORS policy: No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. Origin (our Adapt learning site) is therefore not allowed access.

I've never come across this before and don't know how I would tackle it, so I'm hoping someone else here has!

This is my first time using the tool and I'm very pleased with the results so far - there is just this one bug holding me up from getting courses out with the correct branding etc. - no idea why it works fine on the iPad but not anywhere else - very frustrating!

Does anyone have any suggestions for a solution to this?