Picture of Rich Dunn
Expanding menu
by Rich Dunn - Monday, 25 September 2017, 10:16 PM

Hi,

I'm a newbie, trying to get a handle on the framework and how we'd use it with our courses.  

I've been playing around and successfully created a sub menu but it isn't exactly what I'd like.  I'd like to have a main menu with menu items that expand when clicked, exposing the sub menu items, where each is clickable and would navigate to the appropriate content page.  Something like this:

Main Menu
|_Introduction (goes to content page)
|_Module 1 (expands when clicked)
  |_Lesson 1 (goes to content page)
  |_Lesson n (goes to content page)
|_ Assessment (goes to assessment or maybe just some final content page)

It looks like in order to do this, I'd need to create a new custom menu plugin and figure out how the NavigationView works and then possibly alter it at the core.  I obviously don't want to do that.  Am I over looking how the framework could work to accomplish this?  Any advice is appreciated.  

Thank you.

Rich

Picture of Matt Leathes
Re: Expanding menu
by Matt Leathes - Tuesday, 26 September 2017, 9:51 AM

Not sure, depends why you think you need to alter NavigationView...?

Picture of Stu Pod
by Stu Pod - Monday, 26 February 2018, 11:54 PM

Hi Rich,

That's exactly what I wanted to do and I had a just build an extension (plugin) myself. The trickiest bit was finding a reliable way to create a hierarchical representation of the course structure (including _type, displayTitle, _id, and _parentId).

I think Adapt.contentObjects.models[0].getAncestorModels()[0].attributes._children._byId was the only way I could find which was in the correct order.

I'd contribute my plugin, but it's very rough!

It does seem very odd that the AT encourages structuring a course with a hierarchical/tree structure using the 'Add sub menu' button, but the exported course (and the available plugins) don't seem to provide any way to navigate it using that same structure.