Picture of Erik Gutz
Course completition tracking
by Erik Gutz - Wednesday, 18 June 2014, 3:19 PM

Hi guys,

First of all congratulations for this great iniciative, I'm really excited about Adapt.

I have my own node.js web server that i use to publish the adapt courses i've created. I wanted to know what is the best approach to track my learners progress during their courses without the use of a LMS server.

I have placed a post request inside Adapt's app.js file that fires every time an article's 'change:_isComplete' event happens. It works

Now the problem is: when a learner loads a course, how do I force some articles to load as completed?

I'm really new to e-learning developing in general, so any help will be much appreciated!

me
Re: Course completition tracking
by Sven Laux - Wednesday, 18 June 2014, 10:30 PM

Hi Erik,

welcome and great to hear you are excited by Adapt!

Seeing as you mentioned you're relatively new to e-learning, I thought I'd give you give some general pointers (and let others answer your specific technical queries).

The most common way of tracking e-learning is using the SCORM 1.2 standard (check out this Wikipedia overview). It's not the latest but the most commonly used version. You can find the official documentation and spec here on the ADLNet website.

SCORM 1.2 is implemented in our Spoor extension but does require a SCORM API (not necessarily a full LMS) to listen out and track the data. You''ll also need to capture at least a unique user ID.

This standard will likely be superseded by xAPI (aka tin can), which is a more modern and extendible standard to track learning (or experiences in general). Regardless, you still have to take a unique user ID and have an endpoint (i.e. target for the tracking data). We're keen to implement xAPI tracking in the near future and have been chatting to the guys from Brightcookie about collaboration on an extension for Adapt.