Picture of James Merrill
Databasing of Content and Real-time Delivery of Courses?
by James Merrill - Thursday, 10 July 2014, 8:01 PM

I'm just learning about the Adapt Framework and excited to see how the Adapt Authoring tool will pull it all together. (Any update on the timeline for the authoring tool. I read somewhere 2Q 2014 but the official site just says 2014)  Anyway, I think you have a great vision and I'm anxious to see it evolve and grow.  I have a couple of questions.

1. Based on my understanding components are built based on json statements. Those json statements essentially bring together the component and the learning content.  Do you foresee that the learning content (e.g. titles, instructional text, paths to media) will be stored in a database and generated dynamically real-time to create the learning experience or will the json files be text-based files on the server? Certainly there are pros and cons to both options.  If you are going with the text-based file approach do you see any significant obstacles if one wanted to leverage a database approach instead?

2. Related to the prior question, if a company considering the adapt framework required some additional principles of Centralize Templates and Real-time delivery of content what would you recommend?  How easily could the framework be adapted to accomplish these additional principles?   To expand the principles, we would want centralized templates that are used for all content that is generated dynamically real-time.  That way, if we need to make a component update we make it in one location and all content would be updated. This would eliminate the need to hunt down published content in multiple locations. The real-time delivery principle would allow us quicker speed to market because we could eliminate the launch process and make quicker maintenance updates.

Thoughts?

James

Picture of Dennis Heaney
Re: Databasing of Content and Real-time Delivery of Courses?