Picture of Sébastien Bonte
Publishing course
by Sébastien Bonte - Wednesday, 30 July 2014, 11:12 PM

Hi everybody,

i'm a newbie in programming, actually i'm not a programmer but I study computing to create some course, i manage to run the framework and to build my own course but for publishing, I have some problems.

First, if I clearly understand, it works in python, that's why it's work with grunt server command.

I can imagine that's why it doen't work when i open myself the index file on build section.

So, my website is on apache, i upload the build archive by ftp, and obviouly it doesn't work!

I suppose I need a python server? is'nt it?

So I read about mod_apache, but i didn't understand how to process, and my host answer me that I need a cloud server to work python, expensive and unknow for me.

Someone can help me about the best choice and solution? I know my question is out of the adapt development but i just need simple answer to know how can i do to run the adapt code after building the code.

Thanks you for any help

Sébastien

Picture of Matt Leathes
Re: Publishing course
by Matt Leathes - Thursday, 31 July 2014, 1:26 PM

Salut Sébastien!

No, it doesn't use Python at all. Grunt server is actually using Node.js to create local web server.

The course output is pure HTML/JS/CSS so requires nothing but a regular web server to run.

If you just run the files locally (i.e. by double-clicking index.html) then you'll probably find that it won't run due to the security settings of whatever browser you're using.

There are ways to turn this off - but to be honest it's much easier to load the content onto a web server. You can easily set one up on your PC/Mac by using Fenix Web Server or something similar.

Ideally you would actually use a SCORM compliant Learning Management System such as Moodle or SCORM Cloud as this will all the content to track what the user has done between sessions.