Picture of Marissa Preciado
Blockslider _isComplete
by Marissa Preciado - Friday, 3 January 2020, 6:51 PM

I'm trying to add a "complete" class to the tabs on blockslider when the corresponding blocks are completed. I'm using adapt-contrib-blockslider). I've added this to the js file:

this.listenTo(Adapt.blocks, 'change:_isComplete', this.setComplete, this);

setComplete: function () {
this.$('.blockslider-tab.active').addClass('complete');
},

as well as an {{#if attributes._isComplete}} handler to the hbs file. It works except if more than one blockslider is active on a page, it then marks all the active tabs as complete. I'm totally new to js so if anyone can help with this, it would be greatly appreciated.

Picture of Matt Leathes
Re: Blockslider _isComplete
by Matt Leathes - Monday, 6 January 2020, 12:00 PM

it's this line that's the problem:

as it's saying 'any time ANY block's _isComplete attribute changes, execute this.setComplete'.

You need to be more specific than that; i.e. you only want to be listening to the _isComplete change event for blocks associated with the current instance of the blockSlider extension.

Luckily, it looks like there's already a function to give you that list - getAvailableBlocks - so you should be able to change the above code to:

this.listenTo(this.getAvailableBlocks(), 'change:_isComplete', this.setComplete);

Your setComplete function also makes the assumption that the block that's just been completed will always be the 'active' block - which probably will be the case the majority of the time but you should still try and avoid making assumptions like that as they can lead to unexpected behaviour (i.e. bugs!)

to be more specific and avoid that sort of problem, look up the _id of the block that just got set to completed and use that to construct a more specific selector:

setComplete: function(blockModel) {
  var blockId = blockModel.get('_id');
  this.$('.blockslider-tab-' + blockId).addClass('complete');
},