Picture of Inbal Mishory
Developing new component/extension/plugin
by Inbal Mishory - Thursday, 4 September 2014, 8:57 AM

Hi all,

I am currently working on transforming an old flash learning object to the adapt framework.
So far everything is going well and even though I've had little problems here and there it's been mostly smooth sailing.
I want to develop a component/extension/plugin that will be exactly like a text component, but on completion of the question e.g. any final answer, be it the right or wrong one, I would like an image to appear next to the answer.
First of all, i'd like to know has anyone done something like this?
also can i simply copy the relevant contrib files and add what's necessary for an image to appear?
How do I start?
I'll admit I'm not an excellent programmer, just middle of the road, I am not proficient in backbone, my knowledge of javascript and jquery is good but not excellent, should i even try?

thanks to anyone who'll answer :)

Picture of Matt Leathes
Re: Developing new component/extension/plugin
by Matt Leathes - Friday, 5 September 2014, 9:49 AM

Of course you should try! How else will you improve and become an excellent programmer?!

Do you mean that it will be "exactly like the text input component"? If so, I'm not sure if someone has done this or not but don't let that stop you as this sounds like a great task to get going with Adapt development.

Yes I would simply copy the contrib files to use as a starting point. It then depends whether you're going to make a completely new component or amend the existing one so that it is configurable to allow an image to be shown alongside the feedback (as well as the default behaviour). I'd suggest the latter as that sounds like it could be quite useful and so your code may well end up being pulled back into the community version!

There's a guide to components on the Wiki here that may help: https://github.com/adaptlearning/adapt_framework/wiki/Developers-guide:-components