Picture of Jerome Lam
Disabling spoor instead of uninstalling it
by Jerome Lam - Thursday, 15 January 2015, 4:35 PM

Hi all,

I was looking at the source code of adapt-contrib-spoor extension (https://github.com/adaptlearning/adapt-contrib-spoor) and realized that properties.schema expects _isEnabled but the Spoor model never makes use of it. The Adapt wiki entry on setting up your development environment suggests to uninstall it if we don't use SCORM.

I would like to avoid the steps of uninstalling and reinstalling it when needed, so would it make sense to change the initialize function to check the _isEnabled property? If it does, I would gladly take this as an exercise to create a pull request as this is my first time working through GitHub.

On a similar topic, I noticed that there are lots of forks from the original repository that haven't been pulled back in for over 6 months (example is cgkineo's fork around June 24th 2014). Is this common/intentional? Won't beneficial features not be included back into the master repository, and won't there be a code gap that'll only grow wider as more commits are made?

Thanks for you advice!

Jerome

me
Re: Disabling spoor instead of uninstalling it
by Sven Laux - Thursday, 15 January 2015, 5:22 PM

Hi Jerome,

thank you very much for your post and for offering to take on this task. It would be great if we could have an initial chat (e.g. via Skype) please feel free to contact me via 'kineosven' on Skype or write to me at sven.laux@kineo.com

I can also answer the questions raised in the last paragraph: