Cory Shain
User progress tracking in course published from Authoring Tool
by Cory Shain - Tuesday, 14 April 2015, 1:41 PM

This is a very basic question that I apologize for in advance. I've created a course in the Authoring Tool, published it using the "Publish" feature, and I'm testing it out in my employer's LMS (Desire2Learn). The content works great, but the LMS doesn't appear to be tracking user progress. The completion tracking within the course itself is reset each time a user closes and reopens the course, and there don't appear to be any SCORM interactions associated with the course in the LMS's SCORM report.

These instructions explain how to turn on SCORM tracking when coding courses by hand, but I'm not sure how to turn on tracking when generating a course from the Authoring Tool (I was hoping it would be turned on by default).

I'm very new to SCORM, so I'm not sure what I should be expecting with a successful Adapt/LMS integration. There's little direct assessment in my course, but I was hoping to be able to see which components users have completed, or, at the very least, the overall completion percentage. Any help with this would be terrific.

Thanks,

Cory

Picture of Tom Taylor
Re: User progress tracking in course published from Authoring Tool
by Tom Taylor - Wednesday, 15 April 2015, 10:01 AM

Hi Cory,

Questions like this are really useful for us in identifying areas we need to improve, so don't be afraid to flag things that aren't clear to you; we want to make the authoring tool as easy to pick up and use as possible.

To answer your question: 

1. Go to 'Manage extensions'
  2. Click the 'Add' button next to Spoor
  3. Click the 'Back to menu' button in the top left of the screen
  4. Go into 'Configuration settings'
  5. Under 'Extensions', you'll find a Spoor entry, which you can click to expand the spoor-relevant settings