Picture of Simon Ray
Instructional material
by Simon Ray - Tuesday, 26 May 2015, 11:16 PM

Hi all

Not sure if this post should be here or in the Tech section.

Basically, I'm an "Instructional Designer" or "eLearning Developer" or whatever, and I came into this career path by chance, like a lot of us did.  I started out learning on Articulate Studio 09 then Storyline, dabbled a bit in Captivate, etc...

At no point have I had formal training in HTML or CSS coding, nor have I ever really been a programer, so I have no experience in using platforms like Git, Node etc...

While I think you guys have done a magnificent job of building and deploying Adapt (I can't go back to Articulate anymore...I just can't!), I am struggling with the technical aspects.  You're probably noticing a shift in your forums, from users who understand coding to an increasing number of folk like me who are eLearning dev's who don't necessarily code. I would really love it if someone could do a course/video on:

1. How to install the Adapt Framework properly (I know there are multiple variations, but most of these could be covered)
  2. What each of the bits do and how to set them up and use them properly...eg what is git hub and how do you use it?
  3. How to create a course from scratch.  Most of the how-to videos have been about the framework, not the tool...and have started with a course already created.

I have learnt a lot just by playing with it, but I am struggling to work out things like:

1. How do I get a different picture between sections of a page?
  2. How can I change the background colour for different sections of a page?
  3. How can I put background images in that slide under text?
  4. How can I make the menu boxes the same size?

I know most of this is in the LESS files, but as I said, I'm not a coder (although I am teaching myself).