Picture of Arend Raifsnider
Adapt for Microlearning
by Arend Raifsnider - Thursday, 27 August 2015, 6:53 PM

Hello! First of all, thanks to those who have been helpful (Chuck Lorenz, especially).

I'm still getting started in Adapt, going through the source code and understanding how we might utilize it in our organization. I am in discussions with some other team members to develop some microlearning around a big organizational learning initiative. An early idea is to have a schedule, and each segment (5-minutes) of the training would be rolled out every two weeks. 

I'm considering mentioning Adapt to my team for this, but I want to get some community thoughts on whether this would be a good tool for the application I'm talking about. My thought would be that we would have five main topics introduced on the main course page. Topics not yet covered would be greyed-out and unviewable. Within each topic, we would have a component or two added every two weeks until we've unfurled all the content.

Potentially, this might sit in our LMS. If a user follows along from the beginning, their progress will be retained whenever they come back to the course. If a user starts it later on, they have access to all previously-introduced content. Eventually, they would complete the training and receive a completion in the LMS (assuming we do deliver via the LMS) but not until all topics have been viewed.

As I type this, it's sounding more like this would be a good approach to take. Does anyone have thoughts on this, or some potential pitfalls to my strategy that Adapt might pose? Is there a way I can have content in the course but not reveal it until later?

Thanks all!

Arend Raifsnider

Picture of x z
Re: Adapt for Microlearning
by x z - Thursday, 27 August 2015, 8:15 PM

Hi Arend,

I'm not an Adapt expert and others who've used it will probably correct me, but here are my thoughts.