Picture of Nick Webb
Development workflow
by Nick Webb - Wednesday, 27 January 2016, 8:13 AM

Hello everyone,

I've been following the Adapt project for sometime, and am finally in a position to start looking at implementing Adapt into a production environment.

At the moment I've been playing with the authoring tool, and aside from the missing support for multiple users my main problem at the moment is the number of Adapt plugins that are not authoring tool ready yet.

As a developer myself I don't mind using the framework, but I work with a couple of IDs for whom this would be a less comfortable experience.

So I'm curious how other people are using Adapt in a production environment:

• Are you using the authoring tool?
  • If you're not using the authoring tool who is writing content and how?
  • If the authoring tool is used to enter content is it possible to do further development work once a course has been exported from the authoring tool.

Any thoughts on the issue of workflow would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Nick

Picture of Paul Steven
Re: Development workflow
by Paul Steven - Wednesday, 27 January 2016, 9:35 AM

Hi Nick

With regards the multiple users functionality I did manage to get this working following the information from the following thread:

https://community.adaptlearning.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=1081

With regards the plugins that have no schemas and hence are not authoring tool ready, I suppose you could try and make them authoring tool ready yourself - see this thread for more info on the schema to do so.

https://community.adaptlearning.org/mod/forum/discuss.php?d=1152

Another alternative is to pay for a hosted solution from a company such as Learning Pool - they will give you multiuser functionality and may have more components available for the authoring tool than is available in the open source offering.

Picture of Nick Webb
by Nick Webb - Wednesday, 27 January 2016, 12:48 PM

Thanks for the reply Paul,